beauty, essential oils, Recipes

Younger Looking, Smoother Skin For Pennies

DIY facial serum - Younger Looking, Smoother Skin For Pennies

Younger Looking, Smoother Skin For Pennies

 

Are you tired of spending hundreds of dollars on facial serums that appear to do nothing?  I refuse to throw my money away on ineffective cosmetics any longer.

After attending a Christmas party with some of my oily friends and receiving a coconut oil-based evening facial serum I am amazed at the effectiveness of this DIY facial serum.  The skin on my neck and face is younger looking, softer, and smoother.

I have combination skin and I never dreamed in a million years that I’d be putting oil and butter on my face.  I use this formula every night after washing my face and gently drying it.  A little bit goes a long way.  It’s completely absorbed every night and my skin has never looked better.  I have not had a single blemish since using this amazing facial serum and my face isn’t even oily now.

Here’s How It’s Done

The first thing I did was to measure 1 cup of coconut oil.  This is the same type that you cook with and not the liquid fractionated coconut oil.  I get a huge jar at my local big box store.

DIY facial serum - Younger Looking, Smoother Skin For Pennies

 

I measure out 1/4 of a cup of cocoa butter.  The cocoa butter I ordered online is hard because it’s not processed.  You don’t want a processed product because it will have additives.  I was able to microwave it for 15 seconds at a time until it was soft enough to scoop out of the jar.

DIY facial serum - Younger Looking, Smoother Skin For Pennies

 

After measuring both the coconut oil and cocoa butter I mixed it with my hand mixer but you can use your stand mixer just as easily.  The cocoa butter will leave little balls in the mixture even after a thorough mixing.  That’s ok and to be expected.

DIY facial serum - Younger Looking, Smoother Skin For Pennies

 

Next, I added 5 drops of each of my essential oils.  I used frankincense for its anti-infectious, anti-inflammatory, and antiseptic properties.  It’s been said that frankincense is good for the skin.  Lavender is great for its antifungal, anti-inflammatory, antimicrobial, antitumor, and regenerative effects.  Finally, lemon for it’s antiseptic, antifungal, antioxidant, astringent, invigorating, and refreshing properties.  I’m hoping that it will also help to lighten the dark patches on my cheeks from melasma.  But, a word of caution, citrus may cause you to burn more easily in the sun so be careful when using this and going out into the sun.

DIY facial serum - Younger Looking, Smoother Skin For Pennies

 

Mix everything together again.  You’ll have an even smoother mixture that you’ll need to put in glass jars (ideally).  I found 4 ounce Ball Jars with plastic lids.  I like plastic lids because I’ve found the metal lids tend to rust when kept damp.

This recipe filled 2 jars and over a dozen small plastic sample jars.  I’ll be using those to give away to friends and people who are interested in using essential oils.

Keep in mind that the coconut oil goes between a liquid and solid state depending on the weather and you might have some of the oil that’s completely liquid so you’ll want to be careful opening the jar.

Make this serum and share it with your friends and family so that they can have younger looking, smoother skin too.

DIY facial serum - Younger Looking, Smoother Skin For Pennies

 

Not all essential oils are created alike. Be sure to use 100% pure, unadulterated oils such as the ones from Young Living.  Unsure how to get them?  Check out this link – bit.ly/SandysYLOils where you can order retail.  If you join as a member, not only will you get all three of the oils I used as part of your kit but you’ll get 24% off all of your essential oils.  Email me with questions at ChooseJoyandOil (at) Gmail (dot) com.

 

May I also add...?

