Cool Stuff

Space, the Final Frontier

by Nathan Moeller
design by Nathan Moeller

My son and I have about a half an hour together before my husband comes home from work every day.  We’ve taken to watching Far Lands or Bust together on our smart TV.  On February 10th while we were watching FLOB, Kurt (kurtjmac) was talking about a NASA TweetUp that was taking applications for social media bloggers to be one of 50 applicants chosen to watch a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket and Dragon spacecraft launch.  Thinking that there was no way in the world that I would be chosen, I did the application for laughs.  Incidentally, my son, who is in the final stretch in his mechanic training, is a huge admirer/fan of Elon Musk and his Tesla.

Fast forward 15 days and I received confirmation in my inbox that I was chosen to attend!  I had to apply for media credentials through Kennedy Space Center to be allowed to be in secure facility locations.  Confirmation that I was through the process came this week.

What I’m learning is that there is a strong group that has attended many of these #NASASocials and that they made a closed Facebook group for attendees, those on the waiting list, and rogues (those who are going over and probably watching from somewhere else).

I was able to find a woman to share a room with.  Actually, I’m sharing with 3 other women in a suite.  I had planned to go over early Saturday morning and just spend one night, but I had really started to feel like I was going to miss out on some “getting to know you” time with the rest of the group.  This afternoon, I messaged my roommate and asked if it would be okay if I came over and spent two nights.  This will allow me to have dinner together with the group and meet everyone.

So, if you see me geeking out this week and talking about rockets, NASA, Kennedy Space Center, and space, you’ll understand where I’m coming from.  And check out this link to see more about what I’m going to see:

Historic SpaceX Landing Leg Rocket and Dragon Bound for Station Check Fires Engines at T Minus 1 Week

To read more about the Falcon 9 Rocket and Dragon Spacecraft, check out this link:  Falcon 9 & Dragon

photo by Ken Kremer

12 thoughts on “Space, the Final Frontier”

  1. That’s so cool that you were chosen!! I visited the Kennedy Space Center over 15 years ago, but I’d like to go back because I think I’d appreciate it more now. Thanks for linking up with us!

    Like

  2. I also went to Kennedy when I was younger (much younger), and I remember it clearly. We were lucky enough to watch a rocket blast off, although I can’t recall what it was. Good for you!

    Like

May I also add...?

