Faith, Love 2014, Rantings

Legislating Hate

I was watching the news with my family this evening.  This is pretty rare.  I stopped watching most of the news ages ago.  It’s so bias and causes too much anxiety.  What I saw made me sick!

My friends and acquaintances will tell you that I am a pretty conservative Republican and an Evangelical Christian.  I take my beliefs from the Bible.  There are things that I know are wrong and sinful in God’s eyes and it’s spelled out pretty clearly in the Bible.  I’m not here to argue those points in this post.  What I am going to rant about it Arizona’s Senate Bill 1062.

Fans of this bill say things like this:

The law in Arizona protects the ability of small business owners to serve, or not serve, whomever they choose, with or without any basis at all. The idea that it is about bigotry is entirely false and is a calculated attack on small business owners. If a place refuses to serve you, take your business elsewhere and tell your friends to do the same. Why would you want to force a business to serve you in the first place, when there are many who will welcome your business with open arms? (C.B.)

http://polari.polariarts.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Welcome-To-Arizona1.jpg

What C.B. says just reeks of America pre-Civil Rights.  I’m not a fool, there are churches that call themselves Christian and still hate black people or Asians or Hispanics.  So, it’s OK in SB 1062 supporters’ eyes to do that?

Let’s just cut to the chase, the greatest fear is that gays and lesbians will be denied service because the business owner’s beliefs don’t support the homosexual life.  While the read may or may not have a belief about homosexuality, how is it OK to discriminate against someone you think might be gay?

I want someone to tell me where in the Bible it says that it’s OK to discriminate against someone because you didn’t like them.

But I say to you, love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you – Matthew 5:44

If the Bible says to love your enemies, then I’m thinking that it doesn’t say to discriminate or hate people you’re opposed to.

This is what the Bible says about people.  ALL PEOPLE!  People who aren’t like you, people you are afraid of, people you don’t understand, and people who live differently from you:

And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength.’ This is the first commandment.  And the second, like it, is this: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.”  Mark 12:30-31

Just in case you aren’t getting my position on Arizona’s Senate Bill 1062:  I’M OPPOSED!!!  SB 1062 is legislating hate.  If you hate someone, you can’t possibly love them.

POV signature-pea squeaker font

http://cronkitenews.asu.edu/assets/images/14/02/24-1062-full.jpg

One Word 2014

6 thoughts on “Legislating Hate”

  1. I am so very proud of the person you have become! Thank you for your bravery! Thank you for your thoughtfulness! Thank you for your heart! Thank you for being my Kid! Anyone who doesn’t see this as TRUTH just plain doesn’t understand the God we serve. He is totally love and there is NO CONDEMNATION in Him. He never said that loving ALL of our neighbors was going to be easy. Some of us are still learning to obey; but all of us should understand the totality of the Great Commandment. I love you, Kid!

    Like

May I also add...?

