Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: Fight

I’m writing with Lisa-Jo Baker as part of Five Minute Friday today.  Today’s word is FIGHT.  So, here goes nothing…

It’s funny that today’s word is fight, because it’s Friday night and my family is home watching TV.  We started watching the Friday Night Fights or UFC (Ultimate Fighting Championship).  I don’t know why, but our son got us hooked.  We were watching a young Christian man who fights and we were cheering for him.

I absolutely hate watching someone get repeatedly punched in the face or  have their head beat on the floor or have a limb hyper-extended.  It is just something that I have to turn away from.  But I can watch a fighter put someone in a hold that, if held long enough, will cause the person to pass out.

When those guys (or girls) fight, they come out with the meanest, ugliest faces.  They almost ooze hate.  The cool thing is that when they finish fighting about 90% of the time they hug each other and cheer for each other.  It’s really a cool thing.

I asked one of my pastors why people fight like that.  He happens to be an ultimate fighter from the 80’s or 90’s.  I don’t even remember what he told me.  I just don’t understand why people do it or how they can actually hit other people like that.  I guess it’s just not in my nature.

Five Minute Friday

May I also add...?

