Faith, Family, Marriage

Why I Got Married

This post is part of the Happy Wives Club Blog Tour which I am delighted to be a part of along with hundreds of inspiring bloggers. To learn more and join us, click here! 

Today’ topic is WHY DID I GET MARRIED?

There are many reasons why Scott and I got married.  The very first reason was (and is) that I loved him and wanted to spend the rest of my life with him.  From date number 1 to engagement was only 5 weeks.  Why the rush?  Well, Scott is 9½ years older than me and was in his early 30’s at the time.  I was 21 years old and just getting ready to graduate from college.  We just knew that it was a blessed thing to be married to each other.

I can’t tell you Scott’s reasons for getting married, but I can tell you mine.  I know I didn’t want to live with him without the commitment of marriage vows said before God and our families.  I wasn’t going to sleep with him without those vows.  I knew that I deserved better.  I had waited 21 years to give myself to my husband and I wasn’t going to compromise that gift without being married.

I think the biggest reason why we got married was eloquently said by Billy Crystal, who played Harry Burns in my favorite movie When Harry Met Sally.

“I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.”
~ Harry Burns (When Harry Met Sally)

Fawn Weaver, the founder of the Happy Wives Club wrote a book about the best marriage secrets the world has to offer. They say the book is like “Eat, Pray, Love meets The 5 Love Languages.” I say the book is inspiring. You can grab a copy and read some free chapters here.

Sandy Sandmeyer is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
10 thoughts on “Why I Got Married”

  1. I admit I haven’t watched that movie, but I love the quote! My husband and I are approaching our 19th year and we’re still solid. Thanks for sharing!

    Coming over via SITSSharefest AND the HappyWivesClubTour

    -Danielle
    @DanielleASB
    ChatterOutLoud.com

    Like

    1. Danielle,
      I think that movie is just the best! Even my husband likes it. We almost danced to “It Had To Be You”, but we couldn’t find the Harry Connick Jr version. Congratulations on your 19 years! Thank so much for stopping by!

      Like

  2. LOVE that quote…so true!! I feel the same way, my husband and I met on October 14, 1988, got engaged in November and got married January 7, 1989. Here we are 25 years later and still going strong, actually better than ever! If it’s meant to be, what’s the wait? We sometimes take that same mentality into the Body of Christ. I know there are times when we must make sure it’s something God told us to do, but most of the time it’s just us dragging our feet. The Body would be further along if we’d just go ahead and “DO IT” already! 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing this! May you and your husband enjoy many more years of wedded bliss!! Blessings!

    Like

May I also add...?

