Faith, Family, Marriage

My Secret to a Happy Marriage

This post is part of the Happy Wives Club Blog Tour which I am delighted to be a part of along with hundreds of inspiring bloggers. To learn more and join us, click here! 

Today’ topic is WHAT’S MY SECRET TO A HAPPY MARRIAGE?

I would have to say that mutual respect is pretty important.  Good communication is essential.  Building a life together as friends imperative.  As we are getting closer to becoming empty-nesters, I realize that had we not built a life together, we wouldn’t have anything to keep us together when Tim leaves.

Scott and I are OK with hanging out at Starbucks and reading.  We barely talk when we go there, but we know that we’ll have quiet time to catch up on reading.  We don’t have to talk the whole time we’re out having dinner together because we’re OK with just being in each others presence.  There is nothing wrong with that.  What IS wrong is when you aren’t comfortable in each others company without blabbing on about nothing because the silence is uncomfortable.  Or you can’t think of a thing to say to your spouse because you’re build separate lives apart from each other.  No wonder people “just grow apart”.  They believe that lie that says you need to have lives outside of your marriage relationship.  NO WAY!  Build a life together.  Have friends that you can spend time with apart from your spouse.  But, don’t build a whole life apart from your spouse.  If you don’t have a good, strong friendship, you’ve got nothing.  The glue that holds your relationship together isn’t there.

I’m never quite sure about the women that go on Girls Only trips.  When I go on a trip, I want Scott to be with me.  I can’t imagine seeing a new place or trying something new without him being there.  I can’t imagine watching a beautiful sunset without him there with me.  He’s the first person that I want to share my special things with.

I guess I’ve answered my own questions.  What’s my secret to a happy marriage?  Friendship!

DSCN229

The relationship between husband and wife should be one of closest friends. ~ B. R. Ambedkar

The older I get, the less time I want to spend with the part of the human race that didn’t marry me. ~ Robert Brault

The bonds of matrimony are like any other bonds – they mature slowly. ~ Peter De Vries

Chains do not hold a marriage together.  It is threads, hundreds of tiny threads which sew people together through the years. ~ Simone Signoret

A successful marriage requires falling in love many times, always with the same person. ~ Mignon McLaughlin

In every marriage more than a week old, there are grounds for divorce.  The trick is to find, and continue to find, grounds for marriage. ~ Robert Anderson

Fawn Weaver, the founder of the Happy Wives Club wrote a book about the best marriage secrets the world has to offer. They say the book is like “Eat, Pray, Love meets The 5 Love Languages.” I say the book is inspiring. You can grab a copy and read some free chapters here.

15 thoughts on “My Secret to a Happy Marriage”

  1. This is great! I’m so glad I found you through the Faith and Fellowship Blog Hop. My hubby and I are coming up on 5 years of marriage and we are to the point where we don’t have to talk the whole time we are at dinner or sitting at home 🙂 And it is so nice to be 100% comfortable to just be in each other’s presence.

    Like

May I also add...?

