Faith, Family, Marriage

Why I Love My Husband

This post is part of the Happy Wives Club Blog Tour which I am delighted to be a part of along with hundreds of inspiring bloggers. To learn more and join us, click here! 

Today’ topic is WHY I LOVE MY HUSBAND?

This is a funny question to me and I bet if my husband reads this post (I know he will), he’ll remember when we were asked that same question by the priest that married us.  If you have to stop and think of reasons why you love your spouse, you’re not alone.  Both of us had to pause and we were stupid-in-love.  Father Davis (we called him Mike) told us that it was a good thing that we couldn’t answer the question.  He told us that if you start thinking of reasons why you love that person then you have something to start keeping score with.  This becomes a problem when the thing that you can grasp is no longer there.  For example, if you love someone because they’re beautiful and then their looks fade, will you still love them?

So, I can’t really tell you why I love my husband of 24 years.  I can tell you about all of the wonderful things that I like about him, though.  He tells me that I’m beautiful (and means it), he loves to serve me, he holds my hand, he kisses me in public, but most of all, he’s not ashamed to say that he loves me when we say good-bye to each other while on the phone when he’s in a room of people (I’m not ashamed either and have been teased many times).  I just know that I married the man that God had planned for me to married and I came out ahead of the game with him.

100_1732

‘We come to love not by finding a perfect person, but by learning to see an imperfect person perfectly.’
Sam Keen

Fawn Weaver, the founder of the Happy Wives Club wrote a book about the best marriage secrets the world has to offer. They say the book is like “Eat, Pray, Love meets The 5 Love Languages.” I say the book is inspiring. You can grab a copy and read some free chapters here.

Titus 2sday Link-Up Party!

4 thoughts on “Why I Love My Husband”

  1. That is exactly how I feel! I am so glad that you shared your story! When asked by my husband … why do you love me so much? I always respond with the same thing “no matter how we feel about each other at any given moment we both realize that not always do we want to live with each other but we never would want to be without each other!” Thank you!

    Like

May I also add...?

