Faith, Love 2014

The Test Started on New Year’s Eve

One Word 2014

So, before I could even kick off the new year, my husband called me at work around 4 PM and said that the computer network was down and he was going to have to stay until the IT guy got there from 45 minutes away AND stay until the IT guy was done.  I asked him if his boss realized that it was New Year’s Eve and that we might (and did) have plans?  We changed some logistical plans and I waited.  The IT guy got there at about 5:15 (my hubby works until 5 PM and was the only supervisor working).  I sent my son down to drive him home, so he didn’t have to wait until the next bus.  Meanwhile, I couldn’t put food in the oven.  I had to wait.

I realize that my word for 2013 was patience, but sometimes I’m just not that patient.  And my word for 2012 was grace.  Ahhh…shoot that arrow into my heart.  While I drove home, my mind raced and I was so upset.  I want to be with our friends for New Year’s Eve.  I want things to be perfect.  I WANT TO BE IN CONTROL!!!  Sorry for shouting.

And again, it’s about me, me, me.  Not always the most appropriate thing for it to be about.  I can’t let my husband’s boss control my evening and ruin my New Year’s Eve.  The healthier, more appropriate thing to do would be to extend some grace to the boss and pray for him.  Extend love.  It prevents me from getting another tension headache and allows me to comfort my husband, in turn allowing him to enjoy his evening as well.

Meanwhile, he got home on time.  I was able to cook what I needed to cook.  And we arrived at our friend’s house on time.  Crisis averted.  And all that worrying, complaining, moaning, raging, anger, and bad thoughts for nothing.

Hatred stirs up quarrels, but love makes up for all offenses.
Proverbs 10:12

5 thoughts on “The Test Started on New Year’s Eve”

  1. When you begin to think this way (others first) you know you are finally letting God do a work in you. This is maturity! Bravo, Baby!!

    Like

  2. We had something similar, and you know what, it all turned out fine too. Usually I am pretty good about that, but this time, not so much. I think the stress of my current situation played a role. I’m sure it did for you too. The important thing is that you recognized it, acted on it (in a good way) and now you are reaping the benefits of the lesson you learned. Those are all GREAT things, and I think and exceptionally good way to start the new year!

    Like

May I also add...?

