Faith, Love 2014

My Word for 2014

One Word 2014
Thanks to Melanie at Only A Breath. Click the button to get your own.

Happy New Year!  I hope that 2014 finds you well.  My word for 2014 is going to be LOVE.  The Merriam-Webster’s definition of the verb love is…

However, God’s definition is much broader and more encompassing.  1 Corinthians 13:4-7 says,

Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

Love is an action word.  Our church has a great slogan:  Love God, Love Others.  It comes from Matthew 22:36-40, Mark 12:30-31, and Luke 10:27 where Jesus talks about the Great Commandment.  But it really comes from Exodus 20.  The first 5 Commandments talk about loving and honoring God and the second 5 talk about loving others.  Combine them and in it’s most simple form it becomes Love God, Love Others.

This year, I’m going to work on judging less and loving more.  Giving more and taking less.  Touching more and ignoring less.  Being more positive and more optimistic.  So, come along with me on my journey.  Heck, pick your own word and start your own journey.  We can do it together.  I’m looking forward to the many different ways I can show love and to be Jesus to the world.

“Preach the gospel at all times — If necessary, use words.”
Saint Francis of Assisi

12 thoughts on “My Word for 2014”

  1. Sandy, `⋎´✫¸.•°*”˜˜”*°•✫
    ..✫¸.•°*”˜˜”*°•.✫
    ☻/ღ˚ •。* ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛° 。* ° ˚ • ★ *˚ .ღ 。
    /▌*˛˚ ░H░A░P░P░Y░ ░N░E░W░ ░Y░E░A░R░ ˚ ✰* ★
    / \ ♪♫*¨*.¸¸˚. ★ *˛ ˚* ✰ ღ。* 。✰˚* ˚ ★ღ ¸¸.*¨*♫♪
    LOL, I hope your Christmas was bright and blessed! LOVE is a beautiful action word, I believe that Love represented all of the blessings and challenges of 2013 for us, and my One Word (Have you seen this?) is FEARLESS, for 2014. I believe that Fearless is the One Word that will help me strengthen my relationship with God, help me share His Word and help me push further for our business and my own writing. Thank you so much for being such an inspiration in my life. You have made a difference.

    Like

    1. Amber-Lee,
      I’m going over to your blog right now to read all about it! I already think you must be fearless with all you do. Remember Psalm 23:4 – Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. Isn’t it wonderful that we really don’t have to fear because we have a Daddy that keeps us protected?! I’m so glad that we’re friends. Miles don’t mean a thing. God bless and protect you and yours this coming year! ❤

      Like

  2. There is a wonderful 3 min. video of Spurgeon’s words about Immanuel, God With Us. Christmas is over in the minds of many, but we are still in the Twelve Days of Christmas leading to Epiphany. This video shines beautiful light in the darkness!

    Like

  3. I had to stop by for several reasons. You are on my love tribe from One Word 365. I once lived in Clearwater, Florida. I graduated from Eckerd College in the 80’s. My father and siblings continue to live in Clearwater. I’ve lived in Phoenix, AZ for 29 years but still visit when I can. My one word for 2014 is also love. Only Jesus can fill our hearts with love and I for one am so very thankful.

    Blessings and love,
    Debbie

    Like

    1. Very cool, Debbie! I graduated in 1989 from Eckerd, having moved from CT right after high school. Do you think our paths crossed? Thanks so much for stopping to read. I appreciate that. Perhaps we can meet in real life someday. I know a good church! God bless!!

      Like

May I also add...?

