Faith, Patience 2013

Patience: day 363

OneWord2013_Patience

As 2013 comes to a close, so do my word for the year:  Patience.   This has been an interesting year for patience.  I’ve learned that my patience can be tested to its limits in trying to prepare a house for sale, packing a house, and dealing with prospective buyers.  The whole process of selling a house could test the very limits of a saint’s patience.

I didn’t post for over 200 days in the middle of year.  I didn’t even think about posting.  Scott had some health-related issues that really threw our lives for a loop.  My job got very, very stressful.  I couldn’t do much more than come home and de-stress every day.  It’s still pretty stressful.  I don’t see that ending any time soon.  But through all that stress, I’ve learned a great deal about myself and about being a better leader.  I wouldn’t change that for anything.

Be still in the presence of the Lord,
    and wait patiently for him to act.
Don’t worry about evil people who prosper
    or fret about their wicked schemes.

Stop being angry!
    Turn from your rage!
Do not lose your temper—
    it only leads to harm.
For the wicked will be destroyed,
    but those who trust in the Lord will possess the land.
Psalm 37:7-9

I’ve learned that I have A LOT more work to do on my patience, but it’s a start.  So, I close out 2013 having a little more patience.  I start 2014 with a brand new word that will be announced on 1/1/2014.  Happy New Year!

KEEP-CALM-AND-HAVE-PATIENCE-03-25-13
thewatershed.com/blog

2 thoughts on “Patience: day 363”

  1. Sandy, what a lovely thought to assign yourself a word for the year, and then stick with it throughout the year! I love your idea for a goal you set for self improvement on the patience theme, rather than a more traditional New Year’s resolution. It sounds like you had a very challenging year, too. Thanks for the great example you set to show us how to keep your resolve all year!

    Like

    1. DD, thanks so much for the encouragement! It has been an interesting year, but my word stays in my mind almost all of the time, especially after I’m not being very patient. I have a new word that I’m posting tomorrow. I’ve never been one for resolutions and tell people that I don’t make them anymore, but, as you’ve pointed out, I really still make them. 🙂 God bless you and Happy New Year!!!

      Like

May I also add...?

