Faith, Patience 2013

Patience: day 350

OneWord2013_Patience

Only 15 more days until the end of the year.  It’s hard to believe what 2013 brought my family and me.  So many changes and challenges, but I know I’m better for them.

Today was one of THOSE days.  You know, those days that you have every intention of getting up and getting going, but them stuff gets in the way.  Scott and I were already a little late this morning.  Because he’s riding a bus to work, we have a schedule that we have to keep.  In 7-11, this girl decided to fill out her lottery tickets while in line with others behind her.  As she would win, she would buy more.  Meanwhile, coffee grows cold and the bus isn’t going to wait.  After our 10 minute wait, in which she advised us something like everyone gets their turn in line, I got Scott over to the bus stop and got on my way to work.

Yes, all sorts of people cutting me off and then slowing down to a snail’s pace.  UGH!  As I was merging on to the highway, a guy decides to move into the lane and cut me off.  After cutting me off, he then proceeded to move back to his former lane.  I’m pretty such that he couldn’t see the steam coming out of my ears, but that’s just a theory.

In a moment of clarity, I spoke right out loud in the car, “Jesus, I can’t do this without you today!”  Amazingly, my brief prayer, spoken out loud, was exactly what I needed to pray.  From my mouth (and heart) to God’s ear.  He really does listen.

Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always. ~ 1 Chronicles 16:11

Answer me when I call to you, O my righteous God. Give me relief from my distress;
be merciful to me and hear my prayer. ~ Psalm 4:1

The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth. ~ Psalm 145:18

2 thoughts on “Patience: day 350”

May I also add...?

