Faith

How Far Are You Willing To Walk?

921690_10151578323989312_663435244_o

Dinesh Chand, from Forefront Mission, came and spoke briefly at our church on Wednesday evening.  He is a missionary in India with his wife, Rachel, and their four children.  Dinesh said something that really struck home for me.

Dinesh said that it was his goal to have a church within THIRTY minutes walk of everyone in the area where he’s a missionary.

Before church, it was getting close to 5 PM, I realized that I didn’t want to walk the approximately FOUR minutes to my parent’s apartment to catch a ride with them to church.  Instead, I texted my dad and told him that I’d love him forever ( 🙂 ) if he’d come and pick me up.  And he did.

It wasn’t that I didn’t want to go to church; I love going to church and can’t imagine missing service.  It made me think about the people that have to WALK MORE THAN THIRTY MINUTES to get to church.

I felt ashamed of myself.

5 thoughts on “How Far Are You Willing To Walk?”

  1. Back in 1989, I spent a year in Papua New Guinea teaching at a school for missionaries’ kids. While there, I heard of a tribe in a remote jungle area that wanted so desperately for a missionary to come live in their village that they labored for weeks to build an airstrip that would make it easier to access the village. When the government inspector came to check it out, they found the airstrip was too short…and there was no way to lengthen it sufficiently to meet the required standard. What did they do? They started all over again and built another airstrip. How far are we willing to walk? Good question. Good challenge.

    Like

May I also add...?

