Family, Patience 2013

Patience – Day 4

OneWord2013_Patience

So I thought that I would check in today and let you know how the patience-thing is going.  I’m still on vacation from the Christmas holiday and I’ve been home with my 18 year old son.  Our days have been pretty casual and slow-paced.  My mom hit the nail on the head with her comment on my first post.  I believe there is some truth to the statement, “You always hurt the one you love” because we know that that person will continue to love us despite our faux pas.  Too many times I’ve seen family reach the final straw and turn their back on the ever-offending party.

I’m trying to be mindful of the impatience I have my with family.  I hate repeating myself and I find that the men in my life don’t always listen to me and I have to repeat myself.  I find that I’m not always patient with their actions, especially when they’re not done the way I think they should be.  Do you see what those statements say?  They are all about me.  So, perhaps this patience-thing is more about my ego than about others’ actions.  You think?!

“Make your ego porous. Will is of little importance, complaining is nothing, fame is nothing. Openness, patience, receptivity, solitude is everything.”
― Rainer Maria Rilke

5 thoughts on “Patience – Day 4”

  1. I just had someone comment to me about the me-first attitude of people. It is hard for us to get ourselves and our wants out of the way. When it comes to family I think we make the mistake of expecting them to be better and feel they should know us better and not do the dumb and stupid things that they do. Not that your family or mine does dumb and stupid things. That’s other families.

    Like

  2. You hit the nail on the head! I know exactly what you’re saying and I think that other than my word – complete – I do need to be a bit more patient too. And yes, more with the people closest to me. Thanks for the reminder 🙂

    Like

May I also add...?

