Faith, Grace 2012

My 2012 Word Wrap-up

OneWord2012_Grace
“Let your speech always be with grace, seasoned with salt, that you may know how you ought to answer each one.” ~ Colossians 4:6

2012 is almost gone and it’s time to update you on my word for the year…GRACE.  When I chose that word back in January, I had no clue what to expect when the twelve months were up.  What I can tell you is that I have grown.  Learning to extend grace to others has been very humbling and often times I found myself sticking up for those that were in the spotlight.

Think about the rise and fall and death of Whitney Houston or Joe Paterno.  The Never Beyond and Labels Lie campaigns by People of the Second Chance were wonderful ways for me to learn about and extend grace those that had fallen in the public eye.  In the end, the last post in the Never Beyond series was about looking at yourself and seeing that each of us is never beyond redemption no matter what we’ve done in our lives.

I wonder about how extending grace to those living on the fringe might have changed things with the Aurora or Newtown shooters.  How about when we extend it to those on the streets?  My eyes were opened to beautiful songs about God’s extension of grace to us.  I even had the honor of speaking about grace in my first guest post this year.

So, I offer you the word GRACE as I end 2012 and move on to a new year and a new word.  And I leave you with the words I began the year with and ask you to extend a little grace this year because each of us is never beyond redemption.

God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God. Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it.  Ephesians 2:8-9

2 thoughts on “My 2012 Word Wrap-up”

  1. Well said Sandy…I often wonder how many tragedies could have been prevented because situations and people had choices that could have been avoided. I’m still shocked at what happened in Newtown. It seems unthinkable and it’s sad that these tragedies have to wake up the world AFTER the fact, not before. Grace as you say…. matters.

    Like

    1. You’d think we’d learn after only one tragedy, Martina, but it seems that we are slow learners and as long as we continue ostracizing others, they’ll be those that need to do something extreme to be heard. What we need to do is just love people where they are and quit trying to make them fit into our expectations before we can love on them.

      Like

May I also add...?

