Faith, Wackadoodle

God-Incidence: Make My Day

 

I was reading a friend’s blog, JoeMedio Says.  Today (12/10/10) he has a blog by the same title as mine, Make My Day, and I stole his idea after I was going to reply to his blog.  His is a great story, and as I was commenting on his blog, I thought my story was a good one too, so I decided to blog about it instead.  Here’s something that made my day.
I was having lunch at the same place I had had lunch every day and I passed a wheelchair-bound man wearing yellow and black, who asked me if I would buy him something to drink.  Now, being a welfare social worker, he had hit the button.  He didn’t ask for cash!  He asked for a drink.  So, I invited him into the restaurant with me and asked him to order whatever he wanted.  He was hesitant at first and he ordered with question marks at the sandwich and the drink.  I then invited him to order something for dessert, which he did.
Once we had ordered, I invited him to stay and eat with me.  I asked him questions to learn more about him.  I hadn’t seen him on the streets before and he didn’t look like he was chronically homeless.  He told him his name was Israel.  WOW!  Cool name!  I had begun to wonder just WHO I was entertaining unawares.  He told me his plight and that he was hoping to get a hold of his brother in Hillsborough County.  I believe we even tried to call him from my cell phone.
After Israel had finished his lunch and I had gotten him a refill of soda, he left.  He said that he didn’t want to cut into my lunch time, but that he was thankful for the meal.  He left and a few minutes later, I had to leave.  When I walked outside, Israel was no where to be seen.  There was no way that he could have disappeared that quickly.  As I drove away, I checked all of the cross streets and he was not to be found.
I pulled into my parking spot back at the office and locked my car.  As I was walking up to the backdoor of the building, there was the biggest yellow and black butterfly that I had ever seen.  It flew a couple of loops in front to me and keep going on its way.  I remember getting this warm loving feeling.  It made me wonder again just who was I eating lunch with.  I’ve often thought that I had had the privilege of eating lunch with an angel and that I was blessed to have chosen to do so.
12 thoughts on “God-Incidence: Make My Day”

  1. I wonder, too, if Israel felt the same way: If he felt that HE had the privilege of eating lunch with an angel. … That angel being YOU!

    Your post reminded me of this verse, from the Message paraphrase:

    “Give a cool cup of water to someone who is thirsty, for instance. The smallest act of giving or receiving makes you a true apprentice.” — Matthew 10:42

    So glad you linked your beautiful story.

    Like

  2. Just like the virtuous woman of Proverbs 31-she extends her hand to the poor, she stretches out her hands to the needy. Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she smiles at the future. She opens her mouth in wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue. You are a blessing to my soul, my love.

    Like

May I also add...?

