Faith

Why Are You Offended?

I’ve heard of some stories recently about people being easily offended.  I don’t mean young, inexperienced people.  I mean someone that has a few miles on their life.  Someone that should be thicker skinned.  Frankly, it drives me nuts, but there was a time when I was that thin-skinned, too.  I heard that they had been carrying an offense for over  year and the final straw finally fell causing them to make a life-changing decision.

The first issue I’m going to discuss is actually the second one.  When people do, don’t do, say, or don’t say something that offends you, it’s probably not even about you.  It’s pretty selfish to think it IS about you, too.  Let me clue you in…the world does not revolve around you or me.  I know, you’re blow away by this piece of knowledge, but it’s true.

Back to the first offense…If someone has offended you and you hold it in for any amount of time, you’re making it about you.  BUT, you’re also causing stress, anxiety, depression, lack of sleep, and other mental health manifestations on yourself.  I can’t believe that this person, who was offended for over a year, actually returned to the place where they were offended multiple times a week.  Really?  Don’t you think they could have spoken to someone?  Stopped returning to that place?  Or, the more mature thing, resolved their issues and moved on?

“If your brother sins against you, go and tell him his fault, between you and him alone. If he listens to you, you have gained your brother.  Matthew 18:15
4 thoughts on “Why Are You Offended?”

  1. Such an important topic, Sandy. I believe the root of the problem is a fear of confrontation.

    I know I’ve struggled with confrontation for most of my life and had issues with being passive aggressive and harboring resentment.

    It isn’t until we learn how to confront in a healthy an loving way, that we can avoid carrying offenses and maintain healthy relationships long term.

    Like

May I also add...?

