Faith, Family

Girlfriends

I was reading a bunch of posts this week about a young lady who’s dying as you read this post.  Sara or Gitz as she’s known to her readers, has a lot of friends; online ones and in real life ones.  I realized through some of those other friends’ blogs that I’ve always wanted to have a group of girls that I was friends with that when we got together we could discuss our lives, our families, our jobs, our faith, and all the problems of the world.

I had some great girlfriends when I was growing up.  We’re still friends today, but don’t see each other very often.  We have a great time when we get together, but we’re not really IN each others’ lives like we used to be.

I have a best friend.  Kathy & I were best friends in the mid-80’s while I was in college.  We worked the 6 AM to 2:30 PM shift at the group home, go home and catch a few Zzz’s, then head out for a night of cruising the beach and flirting with the boys.  We’d get a few hours of sleep before we did it all over again.  It was a fabulous time.  She met her husband and moved away and I got married.  And then there was a misunderstanding and falling out.  VERY long story.  The best part is that we were reunited 3 years ago and catching up was like we hadn’t talked in a week.  I love talking to her.  I miss being with her.

My mom and her best friend, Janet, had been friends since 2nd grade.  Janet used to go on vacation with my parents.  We teased that she was my dad’s second wife.  Then, Janet got really sick a few years ago and spent the last just over 4 years of her life fighting cancer.  When she died, my mom’s other girlfriend had already moved away and she found herself without a close friend anymore.  We turned to each other to talk out what was going on in our lives.  We talk every day anyway, so it was good that I could be the one my mother turned to when she needed to talk about something that’s been going on.

Whether I have 1 friend or 10 friends, I really do know that I’m truly blessed by the ones that I have.  I imagine I’ll never have that group of women friends, but that’s ok.  The friends that I have are the best!

Proverbs 18:24 A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

May I also add...?

