Family

Road Trip!

We’re headed over to the other coast of Florida tomorrow to see Scott‘s parents.  It’s a 3½ hour drive each way and we will do the round trip all in 1 day.  We get over there 3-5 times a year.  His parents have a hard time driving to see us because of the length of time they would have to spend in the car.  The last time we went over, I had to drive because Scott wasn’t cleared to drive yet.

I need to make it clear that I am a rider.  I like to look around, sight-see, look for birds, and take in God’s wondrous creations.  We carry a bird book in our car so that we can identify the birds we see.  When driving through the beef cow pastures, we see lots of prairie-dwelling birds.  I digress…

I just finished 6 months of doing all of the driving for the family.  I’m pleased-as-punch to not be driving tomorrow.  BUT, sometimes we have to do things that we don’t like to do.  My mom used to say that it’s worth it to endure a short time of pain for the long term gain.

I think that it was good for me put myself in my husband’s shoes.  I don’t try to get him to rush out of the house when he comes home anymore.  I understand that he needs some time to unwind.  I think it was good for him to release control of the wheel and become a passenger for awhile.  I learned that I disliked his “back-seat” driving and have since not done it to him.  I needed to release control, too.

2 Corinthians 12:9 Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.

What is God teaching you recently?

16 thoughts on “Road Trip!”

  1. Sandy, I wish you a safe trip while you drive. I enjoy riding too, so I can look out or read. I have to appreciate my husband’s efforts much like you have done. You set a great example to follow!!

    Like

  2. Dan and I both drive equally, but I have to say, he’s always the one who notices more …. even when he’s the one driving! 🙂

    Like

    1. Scott doesn’t see much around him when he drives, so he saw a great deal in the last 6 months because he was free to enjoy the scenery. I can’t concentrate on driving and see stuff. I’d much rather see stuff. 🙂

      Like

  3. As I was searching for a “road trip” photo this morning to go along with my latest blog post, I ran across your blog (and am borrowing your picture). I was just writing about how we tend to be so destination oriented that we miss all the landmarks along the way. Love your writing and look forward to continued reading! Blessings! John

    Like

  4. I’m the driver in our family. My wife hates driving and I think the passenger seat is the most uncomfortable in the entire vehicle. I’m just glad to see that we’re not the only ones like that 🙂

    Like

  5. I don’t like to drive either.

    Especially road trips. I tend to like to read, or play on my iphone, or anything rather than drive!

    Anyway, I loved how you brought it around to such a nice spiritual application.

    Like

May I also add...?

