Faith, Rantings

Who Am I In Christ?

Most of us have a very poor self-image.  The world tells us that we don’t measure up by plastering photos of gorgeous models all over every magazine, movie, and music video.  What we fail to comprehend, no matter how many times we’re told, is that those models are airbrushed and photoshopped so much that the models don’t actually recognize themselves!  Cindy Crawford admits that she doesn’t see herself in her own professional pictures.  Here’s the thing, we believe the media and fail to believe what the Bible says.  What’s been around longer?  Just sayin’…

Here is who the Bible says I am…

  • I am a child of God – John 1:12
  • I am chosen before the creation of the world – Ephesians 1:4
  • I am fearfully, wonderfully made – Psalm 139:14
  • I am a friend of God – John 15:15
  • I am God’s workmanship – Ephesians 2:10
  • I am dearly loved – Colossians 3:12
  • I am forgiven – Colossians 1:14
  • I am justified – Romans 5:1
  • I am no longer condemned – Romans 8:1
  • I am holy & blameless – Ephesians 1:4
  • I am set free – Romans 8:2
  • I am rescued from the curse of the law – Galatians 3:13
  • I am a new creation – 2 Corinthians 5:17
  • I am dead to sin & alive in Christ – Ephesians 2:5
  • I am a member of God’s household – Ephesians 2:18
  • I am adopted as a child of God – Ephesians 1:5
  • My body is the temple of the Holy Spirit – 1 Corinthians 6:19
  • I was bought with a price – 1 Corinthians 6:20
  • I am complete through Christ – Colossians 2:10
  • I am seated with Christ in heavenly places – Ephesians 2:6
  • I have been given great & precious promises – 2 Peter 1:4
  • I share His divine nature & escape the world’s corruption caused by human desires – 2 Peter 1:4
  • God will never fail or abandon me – Hebrews 13:5
  • I don’t have a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline – 2 Timothy 1:7
  • I am an heir, with Christ, in God’s glory – Romans 8:17
  • I am victorious – Romans 8:37
  • I am a light in the world – Matthew 5:14
  • I have all my needs supplied – Philippians 4:19
  • I can do all things through Christ – Philippians 4:13

If you struggle with your body image as I do, then I suggest you take this list and repeat these phrases out loud for a month.  You can do it more than once a day.  Romans 10:17 says, “Faith comes from hearing, and hearing by the word of Christ.”  Faith is a belief.  If you hear yourself saying these things out loud, you will come to believe what you are hearing.  Hopefully, then, you will start to have a better self-image and feel better about yourself.

What is a personal struggle that you have?

I love Jonny Diaz’s song “More Beautiful You”.  Please watch this and remember that there could never be a more beautiful you!!!

15 thoughts on “Who Am I In Christ?”

  1. Thank you for having this site! Its now December and I needed to hear the words of truth this afternoon as the evil one was trying to destroy my self image. I will take your suggestion and read aloud the verses you have posted. Thank you again! You are planting more seeds than you know. God bless you and yours during this season of advent! XOXO

    Like

    1. Amanda, you must remember that you are a precious princess of the Most High God! Thank you for your feedback and I pray that the words you’ve read will continue to feed you and grow you more in your relationship with Jesus. Merry Christmas! XOXOXO

      Like

  2. Sandy, I’ve known the Lord for quite some time now, but I’m just now realizing that I don’t know who I am in Christ. For so long, my worth and self-esteem has been built upon the kind and flattering words of others. But those words are meaningless and are not a very strong foundation to stand on. Now, I am learning that I need to start confessing who God says I am instead of who people say that I am. Thank you for this post.

    Like

    1. Lori, I’m so glad that you stopped by to read my blog. For me, it was age 40 when I finally began to understand that I am not the person that others said I was. We ladies need all the encouragement we can get from a good source like the Bible. God bless you, my sister in Christ. You are a beautiful creation!

      Like

  3. Thankyou-that is extremely powerful and thought provoking and I am now printing it out for my reference and reminding! Thankyou also for following my blog…just popped onto my computer…even though I said I wouldn’t!

    Like

  4. I am saving this in Note so that I can access it on the go.
    Even when we know this, we can get caught up in the web that society sets for us. I have to remind myself not to fixate on my hair or my weight, or even the way photos show me. I love that you addressed this and HOW you addressed it, sis.

    Like

    1. You know, Lynne, I looked fabulous after having my son. I lost 40 lbs and got all new clothes. I put that weight all back on and more. It was very discouraging. But, I know that my value and my worth are about my physical condition. God looks at the heart! Thank you for your encouragement to me.

      Like

May I also add...?

