Faith

Stop Judging Me!

God’s been working on me regarding my judging people.  It’s not like I’m not hard and unrealistic on myself.  But now I’m placing my unrealistic expectations on others.  Let me tell you now, none of us can measure up, not even me.  That’s not the only thing; my judgment is completely against what the Bible tells us.  1 Corinthians 4:5 says, “So don’t make judgments about anyone ahead of time—before the Lord returns. For he will bring our darkest secrets to light and will reveal our private motives. Then God will give to each one whatever praise is due.”  It specifically tells me that I should not pre-judge others.  God tells Samuel not to judge Saul, who the people chose as king of Israel in 1 Samuel 16:7, “But the Lord said to Samuel, “Don’t judge by his appearance or height, for I have rejected him. The Lord doesn’t see things the way you see them. People judge by outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.””

Let me give you an example.  Today, when I went into Starbucks, the two men that waited on me were gay.  They had the voices and mannerisms that shouted, “We’re gay!”  I thought that thought for a split second.  Then I decided that it wasn’t important how they sounded or moved, I just enjoyed their pleasant repartee and left with a smile on my face.  Imagine what I would have missed had I just been thinking about them being gay.  Clearly, I wouldn’t have smiled and I certainly wouldn’t have been very pleasant to them.  How Christian is that?!

Jesus is very clear in Matthew 7:1 when He says, “Do not judge others, and you will not be judged. 2 For you will be treated as you treat others. The standard you use in judging is the standard by which you will be judged.”  So, here I go, trying to be all judgmental and forgetting that I’ve been called to love others.  How very presumptuous of me.  1 John 4:7 says, “Dear friends, let us continue to love one another, for love comes from God. Anyone who loves is a child of God and knows God. 8 But anyone who does not love does not know God, for God is love.”  I do not love anyone when I’m judging them.  They might not know that I’m judging them, but God does.  I’m certainly not being very Christian.

I suppose someone could argue that these guys that I was judging at Starbucks were gay and sinners going completely against what the Bible teaches.  Ok, but, again, I say that the Bible calls me not to judge.  If you’ve forgotten that already, see the previous paragraph.  When I judge someone in regards to sin, I’ve become religious.  I have no desire to live a religious life.  God doesn’t want me to live a religious life either.  God desires a relationship and an obedient heart.  In John 14: 15, Jesus says, “If you love me, obey my commandments.”  He commands us not to judge.  Besides, I AM A SINNER!  Romans 3:23 says, “For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard.”  See that…EVERYONE!  That’s me, too.

I am called to be Jesus’ hands and feet here on Earth and if I judging people, then I’m not being a very good example of that.  To be like Jesus, I need to be able to see with His eyes.  I need to see the people who I can serve, minister to, talk to, and hug.  I need to see the very same people that Jesus would seek out.  But, I can’t do that if I’m looking through my sinful, judgmental eyes.

12 thoughts on “Stop Judging Me!”

  1. What a wise woman you are! When the Spirit works in us we have love, joy, peace, patience, goodness, faithfulness, kindness, gentleness, and self-control. Judging others, especially those we don;t know isn’t part of the Spirit’s character. I love you!

    Like

  2. I’m not gay, but I’m still a sinner and therefore going against the Bible. The type of sin doesn’t matter…only lost or found. Nice post 🙂

    Like

  3. It’s great for you to share your honest feelings of yourself. IMHO – I think you would like others to be more Christian in their behaviors and when you encounter people or situations like you mentioned, you want to judge them as wrong, even if you know that your judging them is wrong. Sandy, you have a good heart, if you show people you care and be their friend even if you don’t agree to their actions, you are doing what God is asking. You are setting an example for them to follow. The best we can do is be their friend and pray even when we too are sinners and works in progress.

    Like

  4. I love reading your thoughts and you make me proud to be your Mom as you always have. Your husband is correct – you are a wise woman! Love you.

    Like

May I also add...?

