Faith, Rantings

Where Is That In The Bible?


I was listening to a certain Catholic radio station on the way home from work today. I like it because it plays harder music and not just praise and worship. This station has a local priest that comes on twice a day for a segment called, “Ask Father Gary.” His theme music is the tune of Macarena and they’re singing, “Hey, Father Gary” instead of “Hey, Macarena.” He answers questions for people that write in.

Today’s question was about a woman, who had married a Catholic man at a young age, had kids, and then divorced. She “fell away from the church” and remarried. Now she wants to come back to the church and baptize her kids. This is a good question, if you’re a Catholic. Hearing the answer made me realize why Catholics fall away from the Catholic Church as well as the Christian faith.

Father Gary said that she was welcome to come back, attend services, and get her kids baptized. BUT, he said that she couldn’t receive communion or be a full-fledged member of the church until she filed a request for an annulment! REALLY? He mentions how people don’t like to do that because it dreges up all the bad feelings for the divorce in the first place; all the foolish mistakes make as a youth. Like I say to my in-laws about purgatory, I ask Father Gary, “Where is it in the Bible? Show me!” That is a bunch of poop! No wonder the Catholic Church loses it’s younger members. They can’t measure up! None of us can measure up.

I offer you another option. Those that feel the loss of the church, the pull of God on your heartstrings calling you home. There are fabulous churches out there. Personally, I have walked away from a denomination church and won’t look back. There are too many politics going on. One has only to look at the debate going on in any mainstream church to see that it’s just too much to handle.

My family and I left the Episcopal Church in 2006 because we felt they had taken their eyes off of the Word of God and turned to a politically correct, all-inclusive teaching. We made a short list of churches that we wanted to visit. The first church we had on the list was Countryside Christian Center in Clearwater, FL. My husband drove by that church every day, twice a day for a little over two years and he said that there were always cars in the lot. We knew that this meant that it was an active church. We needed an active church. We walked in that first Sunday and were greeted by a lovely lady, who has since died, and felt the love that was offered to us and to everyone else. We vowed that day that all six of us had found our new church home. The teaching was straight from the Bible and it changed our lives that day. We haven’t been the same since.

I tell you that to tell you this. CCC has caused me to take a new look at my life. I am not the person I was four years ago. I have made a radical change. I’ve been saved since I was nine years old. I’ve been a missionary to the United States and Haiti. I got complacent. I’m still complacent, but I am not the person I was. I don’t measure up any more now than I did 4 years ago. I can’t measure up on my own anyway. I am no one without God. He has changed me and is changing me. I see changes in my family. Our church is an accepting church. We accept all sinners without judgment. We still call sin sin, but we don’t define people by their sin. We are all children of God.

I suggest you find a good place to worship. One that offers great music. One that offers teaching straight from the Bible. One that encourages you to not only bring your Bible to church, but to read it at home. How can you get to know “a friend that sticks closer than a brother” unless you spend time with Him?

5 thoughts on “Where Is That In The Bible?”

  1. >The Catholic Church considers the Gospel of Mark (10:11-12) to show why annulment is required for a new marriage to take place: "Whoever divorces his wife and marries another commits adultery against her; and the woman who divorces her husband and marries another commits adultery."

    Like

  2. >The sad thing about that is that you can't undo what has been done. The only do-over comes from God's forgiveness. There is still no where in the Bible that says annulment is necessary. It's not in there. God doesn't say, "Get a do-over from the church". God is the only one who can grant that.

    Like

  3. >Catholics believe that Jesus authorized the Apostles, the first Catholic clergy, to forgive sins in his name. “Then he breathed on them and said: ‘Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive men's sins, they are forgiven them; if you hold them bound, they are held bound'” (John 20:22-23; cf. Matthew 18:18). While Jesus walked the earth he chose to forgive sins directly (see Matthew 9:1-8; Luke 7:44-50; John 8:10-11). After his Ascension back to the Father, Jesus chose to forgive sin through the priests of his Church. He told them, “As the Father sent me, so I send you” (John 20:21). Annulment isn't a "do-over", it simply states the marriage wasn't valid in the first place.

    Like

  4. >So what if the first marriage was Catholic? How could it not be valid? It happened. Perhaps children were produced by this marriage. The idea that they are now "fatherless" is beyond me. You can't undo what has been done. Not with forgiveness, annulment, etc. When it's forgiven, it's forgiven and put away (Micah 7:19-He will turn again, he will have compassion upon us; he will subdue our iniquities; and thou wilt cast all their sins into the depths of the sea.) ("I, even I, am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sins no more."-Isaiah 43:25) He doesn't remember them, He didn't say that they didn't happen.As for the disciples being able to forgive the sins of others, yes, I know Jesus gave them that authority. But, He gave that authority to all of us after He died. ("In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God's grace."-Ephesians 1:7) ("If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness."-1 John 1:9) ("Therefore this is what the Lord says, 'If you repent, I will restore you that you may serve me.'"-Jeremiah 15:19a) ("Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus."-Philippians 3:13,14) The disciples, or priests nowadays, are there to give us the words so that we might believe we've been forgiven. And some people need that. But, when Jesus was on the cross and said, "It is finished", the temple veil was torn in two making what was hidden to all but one temple priest once a year available to all. He made it so there was a direct connection, a face-to-face, 24/7 availability for us to go to Him for forgiveness, for comfort, for whatever we need.

    Like

May I also add...?

